Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not an expert on bikes or engines but can do most average non complex fixes. I have a 2002 vstar classic 1100. I don't ride much over the winter but do start my bike up about twice a month and let it run for a little. Last weekend when I did that it started smoking really bad. I shut it off and tried to identify where the smoke was coming from. I originally thought the cylinder head cover was leaking and dripping down to the exhaust causing it to smoke. I bought a gasket for the head cover and put that in last night but no luck. Same outcome. I did take a closer look this time where it was smoking from. I attached the diagram below. Looks like it is coming from both areas. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Greatly appreciate it!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It looked more like white smoke. I took a short video of it and just looked again.

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
6,010 Posts
Tappet (valve) cover leaking down on exhaust. Common and easy fix. Blue arrow.

·
Registered
6,021 Posts
dont try to tighten the tappet cover down more - look up the torque spec, its only a few ft lbs - you will deform the cover

you need a new o ring under it: $4

if you have any doubt where the oil is coming from wash the whole area down with Era or Tide or Dawn detergent

rinse it off and let it dry, then start the engine for a minute and see where its weeping out.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I'm pretty sure that's the gasket (o-ring) I mentioned above that I replaced. That was my first thought but maybe I'm not understanding correctly. Thanks for the suggestions.

Part number 25 is what I replaced.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hey All!