Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got my first bike on March 5th.

2000 V-Star 650.

Rode to town for the first time yesterday for a BBQ festival. I filled my saddlebags with brisket and ribs and brought it home for my sick wife and kids.

Had another chore in town, rode...

Looking for any excuse to get back on it today.

***MANIACAL LAUGHTER***

Truth be told, bike has 25*** Miles, and I'm not an expert, but I'm afraid I'm hearing tapping toward the end of the ride/evening. Work to be Done. As with all good things...

·
Registered
249 Posts
May be just that the valves need to be adjusted, Yammies are notoriously "loud and clacky".

Welcome from western NC. Enjoy your bike.

Toymaker

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
5,073 Posts
Welcome from Houston, Texas. That big grin is a side affect of being on two wheels. These bikes do have some valve tappet noises and normally nothing to worry about. When was the last oil change? What weight? I see you are from the "deep south ". For me in Houston, 20w-50 works best. Here's a few interesting threads to check out when you get a chance.

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/7-starbikeforums-bike-month/

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/49-v-star/5655-yammy-ya-got.html?highlight=Yammy

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/36-lounge/110258-where-you.html

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/11-general-bike-talk/25113-how-experienced-you.html

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/36-lounge/113714-how-mature-you.html

Ride often and safe.

·
Registered
5,567 Posts
tappets are one of those things that named themselves

if you have a windshield on the bike they sound even louder, because the sound is reflected up to your helment