1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone
My name is Deborah
I own a 2009 Vstar 950.
I have been riding for about 4 years now and love it. My bike has been siitting for about 9 months now because of a operation I had kept me from riding. So now that i am able I have to get it ready for the street again and need some help and advice on certain things I could handle myself.
Thank for being here!

Ride on
Deborah

·
Registered
600 Posts
If the bike was in good shape when put away, at minimum you should do a complete visual check. Include checking the headlights and turn signals to make sure they are working. Test that "meep meep" horn too :) Make sure the battery is charged. Check all fluids for proper level. Check the tire pressure and do a visual on the tires for any signs of fatigue. If belt or chain driven check for fatigue and proper tension. Other than that take a short around the block shake down ride making sure everything works like it should, brakes, clutch, shifting, etc. If you are OCD like me I would change the oil and filter too. :eek:

Then take and post a pic of you on your bike, back and enjoying the wind in your face :):)

·
Premium Member
909 Posts
Hi Deb! I'm ALWAYS happy to see another ladyrider on the forum. I'm absolutely useless with mechanical stuff (ok, that's not true - I can take apart and clean a sewing machine pretty well) but I'm always happy to help with the sarcasm. I went shopping recently to upgrade my 650 to a 950 but a roadstar followed me home instead (eek, how did THAT happen!). Welcome. The guys here (and gals) are great.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Wow

I didnt expect to get this many responses this fast.
Thank for making me feel welcome here.

Well I am not sure if I can remember all the questions asked.