Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings, from Yuba City CA (45 miles north of Sacramento). I started riding when I was 15 1/2 and rode for nearly the next 10 years, except for sometime in the USAF, but stopped after a pickup crossed the white line and we collided head-on at about 30mph. I received a dime size carpet and a destroyed motorcycle but will never forget the sound of my helmet scraping down the asphalt.

Fast forward many years, I'm 69, and I realized some changes must come about after a great loss. I decided to ride again so I can see all the places that I could only pass-by as a truck driver. All during the time I was driving I filled in on working on everything from lawn mowers to 18 wheeler's. To say the least, and with modesty, I understand how mechanical objects work.

When I started my motorcycle search I was interested in a touring bike, after riding a few I realized I needed a bike with a lower seat height so I switched my search to a cruiser bike. I have ridden Harleys before and always preferred sportsters so when I saw the Yamaha V-star I was hooked (sorry Honda all the rest). I imagined buying a 1100 or 1300 classic, but no! I kept being drawn to the 650’s. I realized from my short tenure as a car salesman, buying iron is not a rational decision.

I finally pulled the plug on a 2005 Yamaha V-star midnight custom, pictured below. I realize the fuel limits but I'll use the phone app Waze for finding fuel stops.

I chose StarBike forums as it is an active, friendly and knowledgeable place. I hope to meet many of you on the forums and a few in person.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
4,499 Posts
Welcome from Houston, Texas. There are many here with simular stories, ride long time ago, so time off and now back in the saddle. Good looking bike and very reliable. Here's a few interesting threads to check out when you get a chance.