Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I am a brand new rider who is having a problem I am hoping someone might be able to help me with. I bought a 2005 Yamaha V Star 650 Custom (she's beautiful!) and I am still learning to ride. I took the MSF Basic Rider Course and learned quite a bit and got past my fear (drummed into me by my husband!), but I am having an issue translating what I learned on their little 250's to my bike. When I pull in the clutch, shift into first and start to let out on the clutch, it seems that the friction zone doesn't kick in until the clutch is almost all the way out. Because I don't quite have the feel for it yet, and it is so far away (fingertips!) I stall the bike out alot. We have tried adjusting the clutch and that only made it worse. Does anyone know of anything I might be able to do to bring the lever closer to the grip? Any other ideas?
Thanks for taking the time!
Hope to hear from some of you soon!
Ronda

·
Administrator
13,713 Posts

·
Registered
621 Posts
Welcome, Ronda. :)

Check out The Clevver. It's a modified clutch lever for your bike that changes how the cable is pulled and completely eliminates the problem.

My girlfriend was in pretty much the exact same situation as you - took the MSF course on a 250, got a 650 Classic, had trouble with the clutch, and this worked for her. In fact, even I had trouble shifting her bike because of the stock clutch, but we installed this and it worked like a charm, shifting is smooth as butter now.

It's only about $40, and installing it is super easy.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
We adjusted both the top and bottom nuts of the clutch cable. It only made the situation worse so we put it back to where it was. My husband was thinking of bending my lever, but I see the Clevver now and I think we are going to go that way! Thank you for your response!
Ronda

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5