Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the StarBikeForums. In Feb. 2006 I bought a new Stratoliner S. It now has 18,000 miles and it started making a bad noise when I back off on the throttle. It sounds like it's coming from the front pulley.

I searched the Stratoliner forums and found a few posts that say the front pulley nut comes loose. I'm going to check that when I get home tonight. I hope that solves the noise problem.

That's the only problem I've had with the motorcycle.

·
Registered
570 Posts
I`m not a stratoliner guy but welcome to the forum. Hope you get your problem solved. the guys and gals on this forum are the best around.

·
Registered
1,452 Posts
Welcome fellow strat owner to the all mighty star forum. You are on the right track about the front pulley nut. If it a loose nut buy a new one put loctite on it and stake it down. Oh by the way the gray strats are the fastest ones.

·
Registered
1,452 Posts
Hey springer you got one for everybody. Where do you come up with it? I bust a gut when I read your welcome forums. Keep it up the world needs more people like you.

·
Banned
4,088 Posts
Just curious, you mentioned a few posts on the strato forum on the loosening pully nut, did those few posts have about 18K on the clock?

Blue is fastest :eek:
Stop encouraging Springer:D

·
Registered
923 Posts
Welcome to the forum sailordon...I will hold back all my squid and sub-Marine jokes for now. This is a great place for information and some really awesome people!

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Loose drive pulley nut.

Just curious, you mentioned a few posts on the strato forum on the loosening pully nut, did those few posts have about 18K on the clock?
I think all the loose drive nuts I saw reported on the Stratoliner forums occurred over 20K miles.