Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, Guys n Gals. I'm new to this forum, but I've been riding for several years. I'm a retired military mechanic.

First bike was an XVS650 Custom. I've had Harleys, several Yamahas, a Kawasaki and a Honda since then. I fix them up, ride them for a bit then sell them. Rinse and repeat. I just picked up a 99 XVS650 Classic in really bad shape from having sat outside for years. I have her torn down and I'm going to do a full resto mod, fully personalized to me. I'm keeping this one. She's going to be Army green with large ammo cans for saddle bags. I'm going to do the details like the ground support equipment I used to work on. I'm not doing a WW2 Harley replica or anything like that. Pictures to come later.

So, the main reason I joined the forum is my speedometer was severely sun damaged - the plastic inside was peeling up really bad and blocking view of the Odometer, so I opened it up to get all the loose plastic out of there and the speedo needle just dissolved. So... I either need a new needle or a whole new speedo, and I'm hoping someone here has one sitting around, cause I'm not finding one on ebay.

I have Paypal and I'm ready to purchase now if anyone has one available. Thanks!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well, I don't need a speedo. I shaved the plastic remains of the needle off the mount and glued a second hand from a clock in its place. Looks decent and should work just fine.

·
2,479 Posts
Welcome from Atlantic Canada. Sounds like a cool project. Nice fix on the speedo. Love to see some pics when you get it done, or even during the build (we're kinda big on pics here).

·
Registered
5,634 Posts
the best way to ruin your speedo is to put a windshield on the bike, and then park the bike so the front is pointing away from the sun.

the windshield acts like a parabolic reflector and focuses all the light from the sun right on your speedometer.