Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2001 VStar 650 Classic
433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie, sort of speak.

I am back on the saddle after successfully passing the California Motorcyclist Safety Program - CMSP - at my local Harley. During my younger years I used to ride off-road bikes in the desert and mountains. Riding on paved roads its so much easier.
Recently, last November 2019., I purchased a 2001 VStar 650 Custom in very good cosmetic condition 21,000 miles in the odometer.
For what I am hearing Yamaha VStar are reliable motorcycles if taken care of properly. I plan on commuting once a week to work, around 30 miles round-trip, and back road cruising on weekends. My guess is that my yearly mileage be around 3,000 or so. At the moment no long trips planned.

·
Super Moderator
3,626 Posts
Even though you've been here for a while now, I'll toss out a welcome :). As you've seen, we have some very talented and helpful people here who are more than happy to help in any way they can. Glad you got your 650 working better and I know you're going to have many trouble free miles of fun on it.

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
8,066 Posts
Welcome from Houston, Texas. Congrats on buying the most reliable bike made according to Consumers Report. Here's a few interesting threads to check out when you get a chance.

Go to last page for current hunt :
Ride often and safe.

·
Registered
3,948 Posts
Welcome it seems like a lot of used to bounce our bodies off of the dirt on our enduros when we were young. I got mine when i was 16. I tried to destroy it but i couldn't do it. There was a big long trail of bikes along the way. Thought i was done riding when i sold my 1800 VTX then i found my 2001 1100 Classic the following weekend and fell in love with riding all over again.

·
Super Moderator
7,246 Posts