Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding with a modular full face helmet for the last 18 months since I got back into riding. I rode all last summer with that black helmet. It was HOT even with the vents opened. It was great during cooler weather and I added a balaclava for cold weather rides.

So Friday I was at the motorcycle shop and started looking for something that would provide a little more air circulation and a cooler color than black. I looked hard at the half helmets but couldn't convince myself that was the way to go. I settled on a silver 3/4 helmet with a full face shield.

I rode to Mayberry (Mt Airy) by way of Mt. Pilot (Pilot Mountain) today it is about a 35 mile ride one way and wore my new helmet. On the way back, a vehicle in front of me lifted some small gravels my way on Interstate 74/US 52. We were running 65-70 mph. A couple gravels hit my feet, no big deal since I had my boots on. Two came above my windshield hit my face shield just above my eyes. I'm convinced I picked the right helmet. There are a couple of small dings in the face shield and not my forehead!

It is 93 degrees on my back porch this afternoon and I wasn't uncomfortable hot.

A half helmet likely wouldn't have protected me from these little gravels- from the sound I imagine they would have left a mark!

·
Registered
167 Posts
IMO, if you are gonna wear a half-helmet, may as well not wear one at all. They offer such minimal protection.

I won't wear anything but a full face since I found out that shattered jawbones are one of the top injuries in motorcycle accident. Apparently, one's face likes to find hard things to hit on its way over the handlebars.

·
Registered
251 Posts
Full face all the time - did you see the news/video coverage last week of the biker that got dragged under a pickup truck and he was face down. If he hadn't had a full face on, his face would have been hamburger.

·
Registered