Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Just bumped up from an 08 650 to an 05 (I guess that would be down?) 1100. It ran fine the first couple times I started it and ran it here in Ohio. I only ran up the street just to put some fresher gas into the carb jets. I went to start tonight, and could not get any spark. I grounded the old fashioned way, by laying the plug on the cooling fins, and I know this is not the best way, but figured I would see something out of either one. Nada. Next, I brought up the kickstand thinking the deadman was bad. Same deal. It cranks very well, battery is good, etc, but totally dead plugs. I am pulling the seat and will start to put the voltmeter to it, but does anyone have any hints, or an order in which to check things?

I am new to the 1100s, but feel pretty comfortable wrenching my own stuff.

Thanks in advance, and hope a good week comes for everyone!

Digger

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Spark

Digger,

Check out the post under V Star. Some of the same thing. Check your ignition fuse, sidestand sw, stop sw, and pick up coil with an Ohm meter.

Be sure the battery is fully up. A low battery can fool you and the ignition will not fire. Battery should be 12.7 volts.

Bet if you take hold of that plug you will find out if laying it on the fins works.Just kidding don't do it. If you can clip an aligator clip onto it you can be sure you have a ground.

Dave

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I have a 5 year old I almost had some fun with. Would tell me right off what was there...:D

I should have posted I did have gas, smell and a drip after all that cranking. I actually thought maybe it was out when I first started cranking, but nope.

Here's what I did/happened today..