Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2002 Yamaha Vstar 650, it belonged to my dad and was sitting for I believe over 10 years.
I’m new in the motorcycle community and wanna get it running in his memory.

so far what I’ve done is:

new “computer” CDI
(replaced with a DYNA 3000)
New battery
New fuses (good but replaced)
New Main switch (good but still replaced)
New coils ( coils tested good but bought new)
New relay box
(old one had a burned diode, but still nothing)
New stator and pick up coil
New oil

key got lost, did replace the ignition key set

engine does turn/crank. Have tried it with the clutch in and kickstand in.

what I did notice is that if I meter the orange cable to the red/blk cable I get 12v
To my knowledge it supposed to be pulsating current.

Everyday I scratch my head, think and wanna pull my hair out. Can someone please help.

·
Administrator - "Loose Nut" - Houston, Texas
2001 Vstar 1100 Classic (sold), 2006 HD Electra Glide Ultra Classic
12,126 Posts
Have you done a compression test? Could have some valves stuck open from sitting. How did you confirm no sparks? Are you sure you are getting fuel? Have you tried starting fluid to see if it at least will cough? Did you check power to coils? Did you check power to dyna? A lot of questions, but tying to narrow things down.

Reactions: RandyIRL

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Have you done a compression test? Could have some valves stuck open from sitting. How did you confirm no sparks? Are you sure you are getting fuel? Have you tried starting fluid to see if it at least will cough? Did you check power to coils? Did you check power to dyna? A lot of questions, but tying to narrow things down.