Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Today I was doing a walk around on my bike and I noticed a small oil leak coming out on to the top of my exhaust pipe. Thoughts? Please keep in mind, I am very new to riding and bikes in general.

I just purchased the bike (first one) and have no history of its past unfortunately. I do know the oil was over full same as the gear oil. The leak did not appear until after I had it changed.

Attachments

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes that is the rear cylinder. I honestly have no clue. I am still learning about the mechanical components of bikes. I can upload other images if you like. As for specific terms or components... Your talking to a VERY green rider here.

·
Registered
570 Posts
See the exhaust pipe right there? Go up about 3-4 inches...There will be a silver/grey color. That is the rear cylinder exhaust valve cover, oil is most likely coming from there.

If it is, You can ;
Tight down the two bolts or,
remove O-ring, flip O-ring, re-install or,
Buy a new o-ring, replace and reinstall, or
buy a tube of permatex, apply in groove, reinstall.

·
Registered
44 Posts
See the exhaust pipe right there? Go up about 3-4 inches...There will be a silver/grey color. That is the rear cylinder exhaust valve cover, oil is most likely coming from there.

If it is, You can ;
Tight down the two bolts or,
remove O-ring, flip O-ring, re-install or,
Buy a new o-ring, replace and reinstall, or
buy a tube of permatex, apply in groove, reinstall.
What BP03 Says. There's a good chance its the valve cover leaking. My front valve cover was leaking a little oil. I replaced the o-ring for the cover.

Just be careful and don't overtighten the bolts when tightening it (don't ask my how I know-I had to helicoil it and it was a pain in the rear)

It's a fairly common problem with these bikes... pretty easy fix if that's the problem...

·
Registered
794 Posts

·
Registered