Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI Folks,

This July, I traded my 08 Vstar 650 for a brand new 09 950.
As soon as I pulled out of the parking lot, I had to turn around because all that I could hear was the valves instead of the engine.

I was told that this noise was normal, but that they would check another 950 as soon as they prepped one for sale.

Now I know my bikes, I have been riding for more than 35 years, and this noise was excessive. a clacketty clak sound apparent only when under way but not at an idle or revving the engine while the bike was in neutral.

My experience tells me that maybe a cam chin tensioner was not operating, and other possible valve train problems.

At my 600 mile service I complained again that the noise was way to excessive, I asked them to check the valves. and it was noted on the service order that I wanted the valves checked due to excessive noise.

When I went to pick up my bike the valves were never checked, and the bike was not test ridden until I complained again, and then the service manager took the bike for a ride and he did admit that it was a little to loud, but he then stated that until he checked another new 950, to just keep riding it. and that he would get back to me.

So my next question was why not call Yamaha Motors, and check with them, he said no I wont do that, and that the manual says that the valves don't need to be checked until 15k miles even though my complaints of all the loud racket.

Well I took the bike to another Yamaha dealer and when he tried the bike he confirmed that something was wrong with the engine and possibly the valves, keep in mind that I have now put 1k miles on the bike in this condition.