Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys first time bike owner and might need a touch of help.
first the bike is a 04 Vstar 650/a

the previous owner keep it gerauged for about 3 years with little to no riding just fired it up to keep things running.

now i own the bike and below is what im seeing

the bike will fire right up with no issue while choke is on from a cold start.
i let the bike run for around 10 or so min.
sounds good to me while its running. videos attached below

once i push in the choke the bike dies , i added new gas and seafoam to the tank ran it for about an 30 min pushed choke in and the bike idled but was very chuggy for a few moments then died.
im thinking i may take the carb covers off and clean the jets but if any one has anything else they would recommend before opening the bike up , it would be helpful as im not a super mechanically inclined person

https://youtu.be/LjX5FogtkhA shows bike running w/choke at the end i kill the choke and it dies
https://youtu.be/uV7t1rco-wU just the bike running with choke on from another view

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Cleaning the jets is the way to go. Just before i bought my 1100 had the same problem and he had it serviced and they replaced the jets. The best thing to do is turn off petcock and run carbs dry if it is going to sit. Sounds like the new gas and seafoam helped a little. 3 years is a long time to sit with out running.

·
Registered
5,436 Posts
check your spark plugs - if they are black change them

motorcycles are not designed to sit and idle - the seafoam is not flowing thru the PM ports or the main jets when its idling, so nothing is getting flushed out

with the seafoam in the tank with fresh gas, put your gear on, start the bike up, and ride it. If it will run at all ride it hard, find some hills and climb them WFOpen on the throttle, back off to slow down and open it up again.