Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all well as you know i am fairly new to this great forum and have beeen reading posts about the darkside and how the tyres wear and handle ect. Now i have been a memeber of other forums and it seems that the same thing is brought up about the difference in mileage ,and handling ect on other forums as well as the baggin .
What my question is and i hope not to get flammed over this as i know my name is crispy but i dont really want to live up to it ,how would you go with an insurance claim in the event of an accident ,could your insurer void your claim if they realized that you were not using a motorcycle tyre ?
I dont know about there in the U.S but i would imagine insurers are tarred with the same brush because i think here they would try to use any legal loophole to get out of paying a claim ,moderators if this is to hot then delete this thread as i dont want flames coming out of my speakers :D

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
Hello down there. Ive been "darkside" for bout a year now, running a General Altimax on my 1100 classic, and have had no problems with handling other than getting used to the feel initially. Had to adjust air pressure till found that sweet spot. 38 psi running 2 up. Have around 8000 miles on it now and still looks new. Front tire is another matter. I'll never buy another Dunlop 404 again. As far as the insurance goes, I would recommend talking to you insurer and asking them what their policy may be. I do know that when that question was posed on the darkside forum, members had talked to their agents and they had said not a problem. Good luck in your search and hope I helped some.

·
Administrator
13,683 Posts