Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone!
Newbie here from Providence, Rhode Island. How you doin?
Signed up here hoping to establish new friends (Anyone local or close to me?) and possibly find a solution to my issue as well.
I have a 2002 XVS 1100 Custom which I bought brand new. It currently has about 13000 miles. About 4.5 yrs ago it wasn't charging and a shop put in a stator. Then about 16 months ago the symptoms of just shutting off began ( It would always start right back up tho' ) preceded by a sort of click like a circuit breaker noise. Testing pointed to a bad rectifier and so that was changed. Went a few months of light riding and then it wouldn't start, battery totally dead. Put new battery to get it to a shop. Again the rectifier was blown. Replaced that again and was fine for about 600 miles. Went to start it, the battery was fried , literally wavy. It sits now in a shop where I can use tools, etc. I got it there and revved to about 3500RPM volts climbing past 17. So once again a fried rectifier. We are gonna test the stator in a few days. If no problem with stator, what else can it be? I need to get this fixed so I can use it without breaking down or paying extensive yamaha dealer fees. Thanks in advance and have a bad ass day!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,470 Posts

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
5,388 Posts
Welcome from Houston, Texas. The introduction section is for introducing yourself. Posting your issue in the Vstar section will get better exposure and responses. Quick question, did you use OEM replacement parts or aftermarket? Unfortunately aftermarket parts have a reputation of premature failure. Here's a few interesting threads to check out when you get a chance.

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/7-starbikeforums-bike-month/

https://www.starbikeforums.com/forums/49-v-star/5655-yammy-ya-got.html?highlight=Yammy