Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for a good pair of riding glasses that will protect my eyes from wind, dust, and other impediments. I'd like polarized lenses and a frame that sits close to my face around my eyes, but I don't goggles. Any suggestions or recommendations?

Thanks.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Several years ago I started riding with a half helmet and started collecting various types of glasses...smoked, amber, clears for night riding. After carrying around 3 or 4 pairs all the time, having them get scratched in windshield bags and saddlebags, I invested in a good pair of transition/photochromatic lens. Best thing that I could have done. I have one pair that I wear day and night. You can find them all over now a days.

Of course last year I had to get Rx lens :(

http://motorcycle.motorcycle-superstore.com/motorcycle/Transition Lens

·
Administrator
13,308 Posts
it's really up to your personal tastes. i prefer oakleys. i ride with a pair of oakley mars. they don't do as much as others for blocking out everything from my eyes, but i love how they feel when i wear them and i have polarized lenses in them and they look badass. so i'd recommend checking out other oakley models with polarized lenses as there are others that will do a better job of blocking out air around the sides.

at night i wear a pair of yellow wraparound shades that are excellent for blocking out wind/air i got from bikershades.com

·
Registered
570 Posts
If you dont care tremendously about looks I recommend Oakley M Frames...Mine survived a whole tour through afghanistan no problem, just a few scratches..they have wide deep lenses perfect for keeping crap out of your face, and they are a decent price even without the oakley Mil/LE discount.. I used these until I misplaced them..Then I got some Oakley Pitbulls, they work good as well.

As for clear lenses, im just using some ESS glasses, style similiar to M Frames..

·