Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
New here and I have done some searches on this topic and couldn't find any answers.

I have an '07 V-Star 650 Custom and I just bought some saddle bags that I was told would fit my bike. Well, they were almost correct.

Seems the rear turn signals are in the way. Has anybody ever relocated their rear turn signals? I have looked online for a kit to do this with after market lights but can't seem to find anything for my model and I'm really not sure what to look for beyond that.

I am very new at this whole thing so if somebody could provide me with some direction that would be great.

Thanks

Dave

·
Registered
51 Posts
When I had my Custom, I relocated my rear signals to the license plate bracket.
You remove the reflectors, drill out the mounting hole where the reflectors were and bolt them on.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks ddrumman, that is a great idea. Going to do exactly that this weekend.

·
Registered
51 Posts
No problem. That is where the majority of Custom 650 owners move them to.

I wound up removing the rear fender to get at the wiring but I think it can be done without having to. I know you have to access the rear tail light...at least that's what I remember.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I did this on the weekend and was happy to be able to install my saddle bags, finally.

I don't believe the fender needed to be removed to move the signal lights but I did anyway just to see what is under there. Pretty straight forward job though. All the connections are in the tail light enclosure and the wires are long enough so no cutting or any destruction to anything other than the license plate bracket.

Thanks

Dave

·
Registered
51 Posts
Glad you got the job done!