Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently I have been keeping my eye out for a road star warrior. Today I just happen to drive by and see a V-Star sitting out for sale. Its a 2001 V-star Classic. Has 2 new perillie tires on it, vansen hines pipe, 20,000 miles, for $1500. They guy told me the speedo was broken but the mileage works. What does it cost to fix the spedometer? I would probably plan to have it repainted also. Other than that it has a clear title and never been wrecked. I have road street bikes before but nothing like a v-star so I am a newbie. So if there is anything I need to look at in particula please fill me in. Any comments are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
821 Posts
Hi, and welcome. 2001 is 10 years old now, and with 20,000 miles, $1500 seems a tad high. Especially if it needs a paint job and a speedometer.
I would offer him no more than $1000.
Just my opinion.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi, and welcome. 2001 is 10 years old now, and with 20,000 miles, $1500 seems a tad high. Especially if it needs a paint job and a speedometer.
I would offer him no more than $1000.
Just my opinion.
the mileage does kinda scare me. I did a search on craiglist and 01's with anywhere from 11k-17k are priced from 2200-2900

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
You're lookin for a Warrior and you're gonna lay your money down on a 650?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I wonder about broken things and needing paint, just how well was the bike maintained, oil, filter, ect? Could have been abused, check close first. Ride safe.
There is moisture inside the speedo which tells me its been sitting outside. But then again its in the guys front yard with a chain on the wheel. So I know its been sitting out since he put it up for sale. He claims his wife is making him get rid of it cause he had a close call. And he has a 4yr old.

·
Registered
821 Posts