Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,650 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Someone needs to break the ice so here it goes.

I have an issue with the speed at which the navigation on the site happens. It may take up to 10 seconds for a page to come up and then the same when I hit the return button. Do other members have this issue or should I look at my system peripherals?

Another point I have is with loading pics from a thread. I sometimes get a blackened screen when I want to look at a pic that a member has attached. No popup screen to tell me that I have no privileges just blackened. I'll exit the site, come back and sometimes I can see it, other times not. Not sure what is causing this.

·
Registered
318 Posts
Corsair, I'm no expert but I've experienced the same problems. I think the speed issue is due to the servers being used. If there are a lot of members logged in on the site, it may slow things down. As to the 'black screen' issue - If you're using IE (like me) the only way I solved the problem is to hit the 'refresh' button when you get one of these black screens; then try to open the picture again. A pain in the *** I know, but it seems to work. Give it a try.

·
Registered
318 Posts

·
Registered
794 Posts
I use Firefox on the computer and whatever the system is on an Android tablet and have no issues like that. Sounds like you need to check your peripherals.

·
Registered
689 Posts
As a general rule, when a site is slow to load it is not the site itself or the servers that are the problem. It's advertisements and/or advertising related scripts that are hosted by some third server somewhere.

The best solution that I have found is a plug-in called Ad-Block Plus. By default it is configured to block annoying ads but allows non-annoying ads to come through so the sites can still get some ad revenue.

·
Registered
354 Posts