Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2002 V Star XVS1100AP
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all! Newly acquired 2002 V Star 1100 Classic, speedo, odometer, horn and turn signals stopped working. Runs fine. Other info:
  • All other electrical seems to be working, including lights, speedo backlight, oil and check engine lights (flash on startup);
  • 10A signal fuse keeps blowing;
  • Bike has aftermarket fog lamps installed;
  • Voltmeter is installed, reads 11.8 upon turning ignition key;
  • No loose connections immediately evident--even removed gas tank to look;
  • I'm new to bike maintenance and troubleshooting, and not particularly savvy re: electrical work
I've scoured the interweb and can't nail this. Any help would be awesome!

·
Registered
671 Posts
  • Voltmeter is installed, reads 11.8 upon turning ignition key;
I can't help you with the other things you mentioned but I can tell you that voltage for the battery is low. If you have a charger, hook it up. While charging, the voltage should be around 14.4 volts. You're making me strain my brain here, but I think the voltage should be around 12 - 12.5 volts when the bike is running.

·
Registered
2002 V Star XVS1100AP
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I can't help you with the other things you mentioned but I can tell you that voltage for the battery is low. If you have a charger, hook it up. While charging, the voltage should be around 14.4 volts. You're making me strain my brain here, but I think the voltage should be around 12 - 12.5 volts when the bike is running.
This is helpful—will do. Thank you!

·
Registered
1,983 Posts