Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi y’all! I’m a newbie rider, and have a question about starting the bike in first gear. I’m afraid of stalling at a light while in traffic, and having to go back into neutral to start the bike back up makes me very paranoid. My bike will not start while it’s in first gear, but I do know that other brands/bikes can start in first gear. Does anyone else have this issue? Are all yamaha’s and v stars like that, or is it just my bike? Thank you in advance for any help that you can provide!

·
Registered
5,667 Posts
Something is not right with your bike

it should start in gear if you have the clutch pulled in and the kickstand up

sounds like some wires are crossed or shorted somewhere

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
5,474 Posts

·
Registered
5,667 Posts
when your bike was converted to a trike was the kickstand removed? - maybe the switch was left in the down position?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Good Morning!

No, the kickstand wasn't removed when the bike was converted. The bike has never started in 1st since my dad purchased it in May. He just put the trike kit on this past week. I have shown him this thread, and he's going to look at the bike next time he's up here to see if he can figure out what is wrong with it exactly. Hopefully it's an easy fix.

Thanks everyone for your replies!

Erica

·
Registered
5,667 Posts
sounds like the clutch switch is failed or not connected

·
Registered
5,667 Posts
^ the kick stand switch would also kill the engine while it was running, if you put the kick stand down with the engine running

the issues she is having is the bike will only start if the transmission is in neutral. Once its started she can shift into first and go.

Only the clutch switch will keep the bike from starting while in gear - you must pull in the clutch to start the bike when its in gear. Her bike wont start in first, kickstand or not.

·
Registered