Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey this is my first time posting on the forum well i have a starter problem that happened todayon my 2002 vstar 1100 the starter spins like ita not grabing but i saw that one of the starter bolts had snaped on the housing could that be my problem that my bike doesnt want to start?

·
Registered
2,181 Posts
That is not good, and an indication of improper starting procedures. You can fix that and re-install the starter to see what happens, but my guess is that the starter clutch is destroyed....

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ugh thats great well im going to try to see if changing that bolt can fix the issue for now... but i might as well order the starter gear and a new starter then

·
Registered
2,181 Posts
The starter may be OK...I'd take it apart and check it before I ordered a new one.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The starter may be OK...I'd take it apart and check it before I ordered a new one.
Yeah but the problem is that the starter housing bolts one is twisted and the other snapped i tryed to find new bolts but never happend.. I wanted to test it outto see if my starter gear i shot

·
Registered
318 Posts
That is not good, and an indication of improper starting procedures. You can fix that and re-install the starter to see what happens, but my guess is that the starter clutch is destroyed....
By mentioning improper starting procedures I think he's referring to not advancing the throttle grip when starting the bike. Advancing the throttle grip also advances the timing which causes detonation and could damage the starter mechanism.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I have a question can i still push start the bike if it has a damaged starter gear?

·
Registered
45 Posts