Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this probably has been beaten to death, but I'm new to the cruiser scene.

I'm making an offer on a 2015 V Star 1300 Tourer. It will need tires soon. What do I buy? Radial or bias ply? Whats the best mileage tire?

I've had Sport Touring bike for the last umteen years. Figured I'd those in the know! I'm sure the answers will be all across the board, but I need a place to start...:grin:

Mutley

·
2,345 Posts
I have an 1100 Classic and I tried a set of Kenda Kruzers last summer. Got about 5500 miles on them and they're about half worn. I expect I'll need to replace them around the 8000 - 10,000 mile mark. Overall, I'm pleased with the performance. My only complaint (and it's minor) is that you get a little roar when cornering because of the tread design. Nothing that would stop me from buying them again though. Based on reviews I was hoping for a little more mileage but for the price I'm not complaining. Here in Canada, where prices are a little higher than in the US, I had both installed for under $450 (I brought in the rims). I'll probably replace them with another set unless I have some extra cash and want to try Michelins or Metzlers.

·
Premium Member
1,155 Posts
I run a car tire on the back and run a back tire on the front on my Wing. I will do the same to the Raider when the tires wear out.

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
5,006 Posts
I'm on an 1100 and use Michelin II's. Got 22k on first set and have 15k on this set with plenty of tread left. No issues or concerns. I daily ride and they do good in dry or wet. No road noise. They don't follow the small cracks between lanes on concrete roads. I really like them. Check on line as prices do very from site to site, Dennis Kirk had best price on my last set.

·
Super Moderator
13,185 Posts