Yamaha Starbike Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Yamaha VStar 1100 Silverado
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I know this has been beat to death, and I have read a lot of the different options as far as installing a usb charging port on my 2008 Yamaha V star 1100 Silverado.
I think I am going to install a cigarette lighter, then just plug in an adapter with a cord to my phone. My questions are:

1. If I do not have anything plugged into the cigarette lighter, will it still act as a parasitic drain on the battery?

2. Since I was just going to install the cigarette lighter should I connect it straight to the battery, with an inline fuse?

3. If I were to install it to a the headlight, so that it would only get power when the key is turned, do I go to the positive side to the battery and the negative to the light, or vice versa?

Sorry, I am not an electron mechanic but with a clear picture I am sure I could do it.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,109 Posts
Hello all,
I know this has been beat to death, and I have read a lot of the different options as far as installing a usb charging port on my 2008 Yamaha V star 1100 Silverado.
I think I am going to install a cigarette lighter, then just plug in an adapter with a cord to my phone. My questions are:

1. If I do not have anything plugged into the cigarette lighter, will it still act as a parasitic drain on the battery?

2. Since I was just going to install the cigarette lighter should I connect it straight to the battery, with an inline fuse?

3. If I were to install it to a the headlight, so that it would only get power when the key is turned, do I go to the positive side to the battery and the negative to the light, or vice versa?

Sorry, I am not an electron mechanic but with a clear picture I am sure I could do it.

Thanks in advance
1. No. If nothing is plugged into it it would not be a drain on the battery.