Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

My 2006 V Star 1100 Silverado won't start. It has about 15800+ miles on it.

I rode it last Friday from work (in rain). It kept sitting on whole weekend and on Monday it won't start. I changed the Spark plugs (since they have not been changed since I bought it at 7000 miles). I also ensured Battery is fully charged.I can hear the starter turning, making a whine, but no ignition. The starter is turning i think, but what could it be?

I have been reading about this problem, and I have been reading a lot of cases of Starter Clutch going bad for this model, and at about this mileage.

I have an appointment with the motorcycle mechanic for May 20 (its a bummer, that I do not have enough mechanics here, Iowa!), but is there anything I can do to cover the basics, at least?

I am no expert in working on a motorcycle, but had changed Oil and Filter (which is a pain for this model), spark plugs, gear oil etc.

Another question: If it is indeed the Starter Clutch issue, should I buy the OEM @$400, or go with the after market ones from Ebay etc (@ $100)? Any suggestions/recommendation for After Market?
What is the life of these Starter Clutches usually?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
We need more information in order to help you more. As tre607 asked, is the motor turning over or just the starter spinning freely?

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the quick replies. I am not sure how to tell the difference between Starter and Starter Clutch (Apologies for not being knowledgeable here). I was thinking to wait until the mechanic investigates it, which as I said is May 20.

But you guys give me hope!

What I will do is record a Video of how my motorcycle behave and post it here.

It will be great if you can tell by the sound of it what's going on, or what should I check first. I will upload a video by tonight.

Thanks!

·
Registered
491 Posts