Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 2005 V Star 1100. The bike didn't have plates on it so I wasn't able to take anything other than a short ride down a country backroad. Once I purchased the bike and was able to get it out on the interstate I was disappointed that it seemed to rev out at about 70 - 75 mph. Seems to be geared very low. Is this the case for all the 1100's? Don't get me wrong - the thing pulls like crazy through all gears and runs very smooth - just seems to be geared too low??? Normal??

·
Registered
26 Posts
I have an 09 1100. I can and have gone much faster than 75mph. In fact I have had it up to 95mph and had some throttle left. I am no expert but something sounds wrong to me. Others might have ideas but you might consider having a mechanic look at it.

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
Could the clutch be slipping? 70-75 is slow. I was doing 90+ on the way to work today. If somebody put the wrong oil "Energy Conserving" the friction modifiers will let the clutch slip.

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Top end

Retired,

This might be far fetched but look at the model plate behind the headlight and be sure it is an 1100 not a 650.

Is the clutch slipping? Has the bike been stored a long time? Carbs might be gumed up, or synced.

Dave

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Retired,

This might be far fetched but look at the model plate behind the headlight and be sure it is an 1100 not a 650.

Is the clutch slipping? Has the bike been stored a long time? Carbs might be gumed up, or synced.

Dave
I've checked - it's an 1100. Doesn't sound like the clutch is slipping. Previous owner switched to a full synthetic but I wouldn't imagine this would effect the performance.

·
Registered
5 Posts
5 speeds bite