Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yamaha Canada is having a major problem activating the GPS unit on the 2020 Venture TC (I got mine about a four to five weeks ago). I have been working with the dealer and contacted Yamaha directly a number of times. Yamaha said their tech team here can not resolve the issue so they have sent the request for a fix to Japan. It is taking too long.

I love the bike other than the GPS but a touring bike without a GPS is not a true touring bike.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
812 Posts
Yamaha Canada is having a major problem activating the GPS unit on the 2020 Venture TC (I got mine about a four to five weeks ago). I have been working with the dealer and contacted Yamaha directly a number of times. Yamaha said their tech team here can not resolve the issue so they have sent the request for a fix to Japan. It is taking too long.

I love the bike other than the GPS but a touring bike without a GPS is not a true touring bike.

What I don't truly understand is why they are having such problems?!?!!?

Basically, with them running the same head logic software that we, who own 2018's have...is that the 2020 is technically a 2018, but just with a new paint job....so, I wonder what the problem is?!?!??!

I hope you get a resolution, and quickly....for this is weird to read!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
What I don't truly understand is why they are having such problems?!?!!?

Basically, with them running the same head logic software that we, who own 2018's have...is that the 2020 is technically a 2018, but just with a new paint job....so, I wonder what the problem is?!?!??!

I hope you get a resolution, and quickly....for this is weird to read!
I agree that it does not make sense, there was no apparent changes between the 2018 and 2020 models, but we are talking about software and maybe there were some changes in that. I have called a few Yamaha dealers and I am getting the strong feeling (but I have no idea if I am right) that there were not a lot of Venture TC's sold so far in Canada be it the 2018 or 2020 models. I know the one I bought was the first one the dealer has ever sold and another dealer I contacted said they sold one 2020 but could not activate the GPS and another dealer has not sold one yet. I can't think of ever seeing one on the road here yet. But I really do like the bike.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Without more detail this may be useless, but here goes:
You must, first, format the finger drive in a PC, using the 32FAT option. Otherwise, you'll spin your wheels all day long. I also suggest using a drive with more than the 16gigs recommended - Staples sells them for $6(US) $10 for the next size up (32? that's just coincidence...)
Good luck; I hope this is the solution you need...
I got this info from another thread here....can't remember the author, but I thanked him/her, profusely.
Rich
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Without more detail this may be useless, but here goes:
You must, first, format the finger drive in a PC, using the 32FAT option. Otherwise, you'll spin your wheels all day long. I also suggest using a drive with more than the 16gigs recommended - Staples sells them for $6(US) $10 for the next size up (32? that's just coincidence...)
Good luck; I hope this is the solution you need...
I got this info from another thread here....can't remember the author, but I thanked him/her, profusely.
Rich
Thank you, I will try this when I get the bike back. It is in the dealership getting the first service. It would be great (and funny) if it works (and I hope it does) given all the time being spent by the dealership and Yamaha on this issue to no resolve.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Thank you, I will try this when I get the bike back. It is in the dealership getting the first service. It would be great (and funny) if it works (and I hope it does) given all the time being spent by the dealership and Yamaha on this issue to no resolve.
I neglected to mention: once the finger drive was formatted in the 32FAT format, I used my MacBook to do all of the subsequent steps, as it was WAY newer and faster than the shop's PC.

As that is something that does not "ring a bell" for you, I have an even better feeling that it will be the solution...fingers are crossed!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,676 Posts
I love the bike other than the GPS but a touring bike without a GPS is not a true touring bike.
I know you paid good money for your Venture, and you want everything to work like its suppose to.

we are both yamaha riders, and we are as opposite as can be - your statement makes me smile everytime I read it

Ursa on Garage page <= love riding my naked Royal Star wherever the road takes me :^)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I neglected to mention: once the finger drive was formatted in the 32FAT format, I used my MacBook to do all of the subsequent steps, as it was WAY newer and faster than the shop's PC.

As that is something that does not "ring a bell" for you, I have an even better feeling that it will be the solution...fingers are crossed!
Thank you Rich, I don't have a Mac but I formatted a 32MG USB last night as you suggested. When I pick up my bike tonight and download the bike's data on the stick and then check for updates using my PC...hopefully I will get what I need .... hoping!!

I will let you know if I get lucky...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Thank you Rich, I don't have a Mac but I formatted a 32MG USB last night as you suggested. When I pick up my bike tonight and download the bike's data on the stick and then check for updates using my PC...hopefully I will get what I need .... hoping!!

I will let you know if I get lucky...
I'm keeping my fingers crossed for you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I'm keeping my fingers crossed for you.
Rich,

Thank you for trying to help but unfortunately I was not able to activate the GPS. The Yamaha dealer believes that Yamaha did make some changes to the software between the 2018 and 2020 version, primarily they think (and I have no idea if they are correct) that the GPS software is now Garmin. I don't think that was the case in 2018.

Tonight I went to activate my XM Sirius Radio free three month trial that came with the bike and XM Sirius argued and argued with me that there was no free trial even though there was a pamphlet with the bike stating there was one. Anyways after arguing for 20 minutes or so they did give me the three month free trial, but I think it was driven by I am already paying them for the service in my car for the past ten years and they owed me some loyalty.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Rich,

Thank you for trying to help but unfortunately I was not able to activate the GPS. The Yamaha dealer believes that Yamaha did make some changes to the software between the 2018 and 2020 version, primarily they think (and I have no idea if they are correct) that the GPS software is now Garmin. I don't think that was the case in 2018.

Tonight I went to activate my XM Sirius Radio free three month trial that came with the bike and XM Sirius argued and argued with me that there was no free trial even though there was a pamphlet with the bike stating there was one. Anyways after arguing for 20 minutes or so they did give me the three month free trial, but I think it was driven by I am already paying them for the service in my car for the past ten years and they owed me some loyalty.
Hi Rob,
I'm sorry to hear that, darn it.
The good news is that Garmin is excellent, though I have not had many issues with my 2018, whatever that unit is, tonight I was driving on a back road that did not appear on the map... Once you get it going, you'll like it, I have had four Garmin units for my cars. Phones today mean we haven't used one in quite a while.

We did not get the "free" XM/Sirius, as far as I know...certainly did not come in any paperwork with my bike, but, in my neck of the woods, the signal is constantly interrupted - I don't know anyone who pays for the service.

I hope your dealer gets the GPS issue resolved asap. You might try contacting Garmin; they have been excellent whenever I had an issue, even with old, outdated units.
Rich
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Hi Rob,
I'm sorry to hear that, darn it.
The good news is that Garmin is excellent, though I have not had many issues with my 2018, whatever that unit is, tonight I was driving on a back road that did not appear on the map... Once you get it going, you'll like it, I have had four Garmin units for my cars. Phones today mean we haven't used one in quite a while.

We did not get the "free" XM/Sirius, as far as I know...certainly did not come in any paperwork with my bike, but, in my neck of the woods, the signal is constantly interrupted - I don't know anyone who pays for the service.

I hope your dealer gets the GPS issue resolved asap. You might try contacting Garmin; they have been excellent whenever I had an issue, even with old, outdated units.
Rich
Thanks again Rich, I also like Garmin and would be happy if that is the GPS software Yamaha used. I will have to wait and see. In the meantime I will continue to go after Yamaha to resolve the issue...weekly emails and phone calls.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Thanks again Rich, I also like Garmin and would be happy if that is the GPS software Yamaha used. I will have to wait and see. In the meantime I will continue to go after Yamaha to resolve the issue...weekly emails and phone calls.
Be the wheel! Be the damn squeaky wheel and if you have to,(should a road-block appear) let'em know you're updating tens of thousands on this forum.
Good luck,
Rich
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,676 Posts
Harman Kardon... ?

they make the best stereos, all the way back since the 1970s
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
449 Posts
I'm keeping my fingers crossed for you.
Rich,

Thank you for trying to help but unfortunately I was not able to activate the GPS. The Yamaha dealer believes that Yamaha did make some changes to the software between the 2018 and 2020 version, primarily they think (and I have no idea if they are correct) that the GPS software is now Garmin. I don't think that was the case in 2018.

Tonight I went to activate my XM Sirius Radio free three month trial that came with the bike and XM Sirius argued and argued with me that there was no free trial even though there was a pamphlet with the bike stating there was one. Anyways after arguing for 20 minutes or so they did give me the three month free trial, but I think it was driven by I am already paying them for the service in my car for the past ten years and they owed me some loyalty.
GreenMtnHunter What is displayed on the screen, anything like Navigation not ready. Sorry I haven’t been fully following this thread but wanted to make sure it wasn’t the same issue that I had when I first got my bike. I had to delete my home and save addresses and then did the drive around the parking lot to recalibrate the gps circles.
Then it started to work. I then redid the latest version update. I understand you have a 2020 CAN model and I have the 2018 USA model but I am wondering if you got our bug.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Good morning GARider,
I think you have us confused: RobG has the Canadian 2020; I have the US 2018. My GPS is working fine, I believe, it's thanks to a post I read in which the author provided that formatting the finger drive in FAT32 on a PC was a key to success....worked for me !
It seems that in Canada anyway, the 2020 version has at least one new item, other than paint, which is that a Garmin GPS replaces our Harmon Kardin unit...I still have a couple H-K stereo amp/tuners from 79-80ish, I wonder if they still work?
Regardless, I do hope that the new finger-drive, which I received in the mail yesterday, helps others with issues...
Other than "not working, I do not know what, if anything RobG sees on his screen when he flips to the GPS mode. I hope you have a solution for him!
Rich
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
449 Posts
Good morning GARider,
I think you have us confused: RobG has the Canadian 2020; I have the US 2018. My GPS is working fine, I believe, it's thanks to a post I read in which the author provided that formatting the finger drive in FAT32 on a PC was a key to success....worked for me !
It seems that in Canada anyway, the 2020 version has at least one new item, other than paint, which is that a Garmin GPS replaces our Harmon Kardin unit...I still have a couple H-K stereo amp/tuners from 79-80ish, I wonder if they still work?
Regardless, I do hope that the new finger-drive, which I received in the mail yesterday, helps others with issues...
Other than "not working, I do not know what, if anything RobG sees on his screen when he flips to the GPS mode. I hope you have a solution for him!
Rich
Oops. My bad. Sorry, I thought I might have confused the names. “FacePalm”
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Yamaha Canada is having a major problem activating the GPS unit on the 2020 Venture TC (I got mine about a four to five weeks ago). I have been working with the dealer and contacted Yamaha directly a number of times. Yamaha said their tech team here can not resolve the issue so they have sent the request for a fix to Japan. It is taking too long.

I love the bike other than the GPS but a touring bike without a GPS is not a true touring bike.
I joined this forum just to talk to you. I bought the gray 2020 and no the GPS didn't work. I read all about the 2018's issues and badgered my dealer and Yamaha about it all too and also to the fact that most 2018's the GPS problem got fixed, just not my 2020. Yamaha is pretty proud of the GPS on their website displaying the GPS in two different places 2nd page down https://www.yamaha-motor.ca/products/details-build-price.php?model=5225&group=MC&catId=1 but as we know it don't work. Things went south and I gave the bike back but I didn't realize how much I liked the rest of the bike because I was so concerned Yamaha was screwing me. My second choice was Indian and then a new wing. Boy, did I get lucky to find this left over red 2018 out of town and I can tell you the oem gps if anything like the factory gps in my 2015 GMC I sometime can't find my way across town with it anyway.

Looking back I was sad to give the bike back, I'm sure Yamaha will get yours fixed...eventually....be patient even when Yamaha won't give a call and say....hey sorry about the issue, we''ll get it fixed, here's some accessories or a discount nothing from them not even a phone call for me.

All this to say go to costco and spend 2 or 300 and get a garmin and just go ride...I lost two months riding by fighting
 
1 - 20 of 61 Posts
Top