Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok i have a question for the bike gurus. here i go.
On my way to work. normal traffic doing around 40MPH light turns yellow i am too far to make it before red so i hit the front brake and the bike starts swerving all over the road and finally bike falls.
wondering if by any chance i hit the front brake to fast but what would happen in an emergency braking situation? my front brakes didn't work properly?
I am just a newbie that couldn't handle an 1100 bike? mind you road was wet because it heavily rained the night before but tires are like new.

·
Registered
524 Posts
Maybe you hit the fronts to hard and they locked up next time try to use both front and back an ease into the front or downshift hope you didn't get hurt

Sent from my SM-J320P using Tapatalk

·
Registered
524 Posts
That's a good thing all that stuff can be replaced had a buddy of mine not to long ago hit an oil slick went down than got run over by the car behind him luckily it only got one leg

Sent from my SM-J320P using Tapatalk

·
Registered
346 Posts
How hard did you grab the front brake? Did it lock up, or did the steering just become really hard to hold while slowing?

Have you done any front brake testing since then? Do you normally get vibrations under hard braking?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
How hard did you grab the front brake? Did it lock up, or did the steering just become really hard to hold while slowing?

Have you done any front brake testing since then? Do you normally get vibrations under hard braking?
hard to tell what exactly happened. the road was wet and i locked the front brake and then i couldn't control the bike. i just don't wanna make the same mistake again since i am a new rider.

·
Super Moderator "Loose Nut"
6,683 Posts