Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to get some ideas to break my wife into the motorcycle world. I have been riding since 1989, but she will be a new rider and i want her experience to be a inique and positive one to remember

·
Registered
374 Posts
Is she wanting to ride or passenger? If a rider, get her into a riding class. Let her spend time on a 250cc bike. I made the mistake of buying my wife a VTX 1300, because she thought it was "pretty". Then after riding it around the block a couple of times, she decided it was too big! I tried to steer her towards something a little smaller. But she wouldn't have it. So now I have a 1300 to sell. Bought ready to just sell both bikes and get a Goldwing.

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

·
Banned
4,088 Posts
Welcome to the 4M.

Two things:

1. Have her take the rider safety course

2. Buy her a VTX 1300 to satrt out on, but don't buy it new, look for a used one in Mississippi.

Hey Jim, put the VTX up on CL and go wait by the phone, hurry. :D

·
Registered
394 Posts
Tell you what. I'll take it off your hands for you, to save you the frustration and aggravation. I'll even come down and pick it up this weekend if you want. I'd been eyeing the vtx1800, but I'll certainly take good care of a 1300 for you.

·
Registered
394 Posts
Don't tempt me... I'd come back to the burning fiery eyes of the fiance asking where the money we're saving for the wedding/dowry is... It'd be really embarrassing to be killed by a 4'9" 95lb woman.
Here lies Jay. *snicker* He was killed by a woman *snicker* roughly the size of a *snicker* hampster. That dumb, dumb, dumb bastard.

·
Registered
394 Posts
I'm getting a sissy bar for my bike so she can ride on the back, but for now she fits in the saddle bags.

And in what world could a woman that size handle a vtx1300?

·
Registered
374 Posts