Yamaha Starbike Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got my bike out of 3yr storage ,new battery , fuel ,bang started up mo problems ,only issue Ive had is clutch is locked up, now last resort is to take it out lube and clean plates , in the old days wed just clutch in ,ingear rock it back and forth and usaully frees up. With my roadliner at 350kgs alot heavier ,anyone can help with me with a solution ill be gratefull thanks

·
Registered
446 Posts
Welcome to the forum from the FL panhandle. I have a Stratoliner (which is a weight reduction from my last bike, a Road Glide Ultra). I'm not a mechanic, so I really can't help you with your problem. I do recall reading some post here about leaving the clutch lever pulled in overnight, but that might have been for a cable clutch; I don't know if that would work with a hydraulic clutch.

·
Premium Member
2006 Stratoliner, 2014 Triumph Rocket III Touring, '81 XS650SH Project
1,750 Posts
Hello @r0adstarjb and welcome from Virginia. I know you say the bike is a tad heavy, but pushing it may help. (I know how heavy these are as I have push started my Stratoliner). Rocking it back and forth in each gear may free it up.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome to the forum from the FL panhandle. I have a Stratoliner (which is a weight reduction from my last bike, a Road Glide Ultra). I'm not a mechanic, so I really can't help you with your problem. I do recall reading some post here about leaving the clutch lever pulled in overnight, but that might have been for a cable clutch; I don't know if that would work with a hydraulic clutch.
Thanks appreciate it

·
Registered
376 Posts
How long have you had it running? I'd make sure it was running for a while to get the oil good and warm in there as well. Being a wet clutch it shouldn't be something you'd have to disassemble to correct.